Fellows of the Society

Fellows are elected for outstanding contributions to the sphere of sexual knowledge. Election is by the Board of Directors upon recommendation of the Fellows Committee. Members may apply on their own initiative or may be invited to apply by the Fellows Committee or by members of the Board of Directors.  


Gene G. Abel, M.D.

Edward Laumann, Ph.D. 

Elizabeth Rice Allgeier, Ph.D.

Sandra Leiblum, Ph.D.

Peter Anderson, Ph.D.

Roger W. Libby, Ph.D.

John Bancroft, M.D.

Harold I. Lief, M.D.

David Bimbi, Ph.D.

Joseph LoPiccolo, Ph.D.

Walter Bockting, Ph.D.

Ilsa Lottes, Ph.D.

Vern L. Bullough, Ph.D.

Floyd Martinson, Ph.D.

Sandra Byers, Ph.D.

William Masters, M.D.

Donn Byrne, Ph.D.

Tom Mazur, Psy.D.

Joseph Catania, Ph.D.

Naomi McCormick, Ph.D.

Sandra S. Cole, Ph.D.

David McWhirter, M.D.

Eli Coleman, Ph.D.

Marta Meana, Ph.D.

Clive M. Davis, Ph.D.

Cindy M. Meston, Ph.D.

John D. DeLamater, Ph.D.

Heino Meyer-Bahlburg, Dr.rer.nat

Edward Dengrove, M.D.

John Money, Ph.D.

Aaron Devor, Ph.D.

Daniel L. Mosher, Ph.D.

Milton Diamond, Ph.D.

Charlene Muehlenhard, Ph.D.

Anke Ehrhardt, Ph.D.

Jeffrey Parsons, Ph.D.

Albert Ellis, Ph.D.

Michael Perelman, Ph.D.

Carol Rinklieb Ellison, Ph.D.

Wardell Pomeroy, Ph.D.

Frank Farley, Ph.D.

Michael Reece, Ph.D.

Terri Fisher, Ph.D.

June M. Reinisch, Ph.D.

William Fisher, Ph.D.

Ira L. Reiss, Ph.D.

Marilyn Fithian, Ph.D.

Bean Robinson, Ph.D.

J. Dennis Fortenberry, Ph.D.

Margaret Rosario, Ph.D.

Robert Francoeur, Ph.D.

Raymond Rosen, Ph.D.

Suzanne Frayser, Ph.D.

Michael Wallace Ross, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Robert Friar, Ph.D.

Simon Rosser, Ph.D.

John Gagnon, Ph.D.

Stephanie Sanders, Ph.D.

Paul Gebhard, Ph.D.

Leah Cahan Schaeffer, Ed.D.

Kenneth D. George, Ed.D.

Pepper Schwartz, Ph.D.

William George, Ph.D.

Hirsch L. Silverman, Ph.D.

Cynthia Graham, Ph.D.

James Sobrino, Ph.D.

Edwin J. Haeberle, Ph.D, Ed.D.

William Stayton, Th.D.

Elaine Hatfield, Ph.D.

Donald Strassberg, Ph.D.

William E. Hartman, Ph.D.

Leonore Tiefer, Ph.D.

Julia Heiman, Ph.D.

Eleanor Maticka -Tyndale, Ph.D.

Ed Herold, Ph.D.

Douglas H. Wallace, Ph.D.

Preben Hertoft, M.D.

David Weis, Ph.D.

Janet S. Hyde, Ph.D.

Connie Christine Wheeler, Ph.D.

Charles L. Ihlenfeld, M.D.

Martin Weinberg, Ph.D.

Richard Keeling, M.D.

Beverly Whipple, R.N., Ph.D.

Patricia Barthalow Koch, Ph.D.

Colin Williams, Ph.D.

Robert C. Kolodny, M.D.

William Yarber, H.S.D.

Osmo Kontula, Ph.D.

Michael Young, Ph.D.

Stanley Krippner, Ph.D.




Nominating Individuals for SSSS Fellow

Deadline: April 1st of the current year



The SSSS Awards and Fellows Committee welcomes nominations for Fellows on or before April 1st of each year.


Fellow Criteria



Fellows are selected for outstanding contributions to the sphere of sexual knowledge. Election is by the Board of Directors upon recommendation of the Fellows Committee. Members may apply on their own initiative or may be invited to apply by the Fellows Committee or by members of the Board of Directors.


A member may be named a Fellow on the basis of unusual and outstanding contribution to the scientific study of sex, being defined as formal investigation designed to develop or contribute to generalizable knowledge. It should be noted that the existence of relevant publications is not enough – they must report impressive work, have impact upon the work of others, and have been referred appropriately. The type and quality of publications should be equal, for example, to that of a full professor at a research intensive university. Citation of the applicant’s work by others may be an important indicator of the impact of his/her contributions. Accumulation of impact and performance over time must be demonstrated. Conducting and organizing workshops, and offices held in relevant associations or political and legislative activity, are not in themselves evidence of outstanding contribution to the scientific study of sexuality.


The applicant must have been a member of The Society for the Scientific Study of Sexuality for three years preceding the date of the application. Applicants must ordinarily have five years of professional experience in sexual science since the granting of their earned advanced degree and must be actively engaged at the time of their application in the advancement of the scientific study of sexuality. Fellows are required to have an advanced degree from a recognized college, university, or other higher education institution.


Award nomination guidelines, as modified by the SSSS Board of Directors in November 2008:

  • “The Awards Committee is committed to avoiding potential conflicts of interest. Hence, members of the Awards Committee and Executive Committee of The Society’s Board of Directors are ineligible for consideration for any/all Society awards considered by the Awards Committee during their term of service.”


  • All Society award nominations require the following materials in a single evidence file: the award candidate’s current vita and two letters of support by Society members. Fellow nominations require that at least one of the letters of support be prepared by a current SSSS Fellow.


  • The individual who assumes responsibility for nominating a particular candidate for an award (not the Awards Committee) bears responsibility for locating individuals willing to support the nomination and for submitting the complete evidence file for a candidate to the SSSS Executive Director. S/he agrees to collect all necessary information and transmit this electronically to the SSSS office on or before the April 1st deadline. The Awards/ Fellow Committee Chair will not take this role. 


  • The official deadline for complete files (all information needed for the Awards/Fellows Committee to consider a candidate for a potential award or fellow status) is April 1st. The Committee will not consider incomplete files and late nominations following the April 1st date.


Please use email to address any questions, and to send nomination materials. Please send emails to Mandy Peters at mlpeters@sexscience.org.


Join Today

In addition to voting rights in the Society, participation in regional activities, and reduced conference fees, members receive:

a scientific quarterly

synthesizing recent theoretical and research advances

an online newsletter which includes information on conferences, training opportunities, job announcements and more

an online yearly directory of the membership and other information about SSSS

Membership Information