Distinguished Scientific Achievement Award

The Society for Scientific Study of Sexuality's Distinguished Scientific Achievement Award recognizes professionals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of sexology. The award is presented to honor scientific contributions in the areas of research, education, or therapy, and is not restricted to members of the Society.   

Nominating Individuals for SSSS Distinguished Scientific Achievement Award


Deadline: April 1st of the current year


The SSSS Awards and Fellows Committee welcomes nomination materials for the SSSS Distinguished Scientific Achievement Award on or before April 1st.


Distinguished Scientific Achievement Award Criteria


The Society for the Scientific Study of Sexuality’s Award for Distinguished Scientific Achievement recognizes professionals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of sexology. In line with the organizational goal to advance the field as a scientific discipline, the award is presented to honor scientific contributions as reflected in such professional activities as research, education or therapy. The notion of scientific contribution is intended to be interpreted broadly to include such activities as publishing materials for the public, developing therapeutic or educational programs, and giving service to the public or the profession as well as publishing research or developing new practices. Since the award is presented to recognize scientific work in the field of sexuality, it is not necessarily restricted to members of The Society.


Award nomination guidelines, as modified by the SSSS Board of Directors in November 2008:

  • “The Awards Committee is committed to avoiding potential conflicts of interest. Hence, members of the Awards Committee and Executive Committee of The Society’s Board of Directors are ineligible for consideration for any/all Society awards considered by the Awards Committee during their term of service.” 


  • All Society award nominations require the following materials in a single evidence file: the award candidate’s current vita and two letters of support by Society members. 


  • The individual who assumes responsibility for nominating a particular candidate for an award (not the Awards Committee) bears responsibility for locating individuals willing to support the nomination and for submitting the complete evidence file for a candidate to the SSSS Executive Director. S/he agrees to collect all necessary information and transmit this electronically to the Chair of the Fellows/Awards Committee on or before the April 1st deadline. The Awards/ Fellow Committee Chair will not take this role. 


  • The official deadline for complete files (all information needed for the Awards/Fellows Committee to consider a candidate for a potential award or fellow status) is April 1st. The Committee will not consider incomplete files and late nominations following the April 1st date.


Please use email to address any questions, and to send nomination materials. Please send emails to Mandy Peters at mlpeters@sexscience.org. 


                            AWARD RECIPIENTS

John Bancroft, M.D.

Douglas Kirby, PhD.

Frank Beach, Ph.D.

Robert Kolodny, M.D.

Harry Benjamin, M.D.

Hans Lehfeldt, M.D.

Vern Bullough, Ph.D.

Sandra Leiblum, Ph.D.

E. Sandra Byers, Ph.D.

Harold Lief, M.D.

Donn Byrne, Ph.D.

Floyd M. Martinson, Ph.D.

Mary Calderone, M.D.

Virginia Masters, M.A.

Eli Coleman, Ph.D.

William Masters, M.D.

George W. Corner, Ph.D.

H.F.L. Meyer-Bahlburg, Dr.rer.nat

Anke A. Ehrhardt, Ph.D.

John Money, Ph.D.

Albert Ellis, Ph.D.

Donald L. Mosher, Ph.D.

David Finkelhor, Ph.D.

Charlene Muehlenhard, Ph.D.

William Fisher, Ph.D.

Letitia Anne Peplau, Ph.D.

John Gagnon, Ph.D.

Jim Pfaus, Ph.D.

Paul Gebhard, Ph.D.

Wardell Pomeroy, Ph.D.

Cynthia Graham, Ph.D.

Ira L. Reiss, Ph.D.

Richard Green, M.D., J.D.

Jan Robaoch, Dr.Sc.

Allan Guttmacher, M.D.

Michael Ross, Ph.D.

Henry Guze, M.D.

Stephanie Sanders, Ph.D.

Harry Harlow, Ph.D.

William Simon, Ph.D.

Carl Hartman, M.D.

Leonore Tiefer, Ph.D.

Elaine Hatfield, Ph.D.

Martin Weinberg, Ph. D.

Julia Heiman,Ph.D.

Beverly Whipple, R.N., Ph.D.

Janet Shibley Hyde, Ph.D.

William Yarber, HSD

Kamala Kempadoo, PhD



Join Today

In addition to voting rights in the Society, participation in regional activities, and reduced conference fees, members receive:

a scientific quarterly

synthesizing recent theoretical and research advances

an online newsletter which includes information on conferences, training opportunities, job announcements and more

an online yearly directory of the membership and other information about SSSS

Membership Information